I STIRRED UP A HORNET’S NEST

My last blog, Teachers Get No Respect, created a big response. It seems all you have to do is mention “teachers” and “Senate Bill 5” in the same breath and people automatically bristle. There are strong feelings both for and against. I have received e-mails and been part of several discussions since posting that blog entry.

 What I find so interesting is nowhere did I take a stand for or against unions, yet, in all discussions people automatically assume I am pro union since I am defending teachers. My point is teachers have a very hard job and deserve the respect to have their voices heard. As I stated previously, the teachers are not the bad guys, however people tend to put them in the same category as bratty kids who need to be punished. Teachers are the first to recognize we have problems in the educational system and they are very willing to help find answers. However, people are too quick to place blame and look for retribution rather than answers.

I have the unique perspective of being able to look at this problem from both the educational and business point of view. And these are two completely different worlds! I must say, in some respects, the teachers bring some of this on themselves in that many don’t dress and act as professionals. Casual dress, jeans, flip-flops, etc. may be comfortable in the classroom but are not appropriate when working within the business world. Showing up at the statehouse wearing T-shirts with messages may have worked on college campuses but this only perpetuates the perception of teachers being less than professional. Like it or not, society judges people on their appearance.

Here are a few comments sent to me by some with experiences in the classroom or associated with teachers:

From Linda      “…it just sickens me, what the republicans/Kasich are doing. In fact, I went down to two of the rallies at the statehouse, (my daughter) wanted me to go, she couldn’t be here herself. She’s a speech therapist in a school district in the Akron area….”

From Kathie    “loved your blog—right on!!!!! I challenge everyone who criticizes teachers to teach for one marking period—not a day—but a unit with plans, activities, assessments, etc. Then tell us how truthful “those who can do, do. Those who can’t, teach”….if you asked me to define myself, I’d tell you “teacher”—even before “mother” because all mothers are teachers.”

From Jerry       “overall I think you’ve laid out a pretty good argument from the teacher’s side of the question. I’ll have to say that I agree with a lot of what you’ve said, but…I tend to look for a larger view of things. Maybe the problems aren’t so much SB 5 but much deeper. From my perspective there is really NO direct relationship between “teaching and learning.” I mean, teachers teach, and students learn and it doesn’t necessarily happen that “if teachers teach”, “students learn”. That, for me, sums up the whole question of what actually happens in classrooms…we have achieved two outcomes…neither of which we necessarily started with…1)provided employment for a huge number of people; teachers, janitors, administrators, etc. and 2) provided babysitting services for little Johnny and Suzie. Likely folks will reel at hearing this…and especially from one who defends “education” to the bitter end.

From my background, and that does include 25 full years in a classroom, the whole enterprise needs to be examined….in this case politicians are picking the “low hanging” fruit once again…I think they suffer from a similar problem as do the rest of us…”they haven’t a clue”…I suspect that this little issue you have spoken about will only lead to divide us further and eventually to armed conflict in this wonderful society we have created…there are multitudes of problems all relating to this and solutions can’t be found by taking swipes at each by writing a few paragraphs…

Oh let me add these thoughts:

1.      I don’t think teachers are overpaid (even though I would have done it for less)

2.      I do not know where to begin to balance income and outgo for the State Government

3.      I do not think that cutting education budgets are necessarily the problem

4.      If nothing else perhaps the new Gov. will help us focus on the “real” problem (whatever it is)

5.      I do not support labor unions in the “education” arena (especially the way it works today)

6.      Many times OEA and FTA tried to organize our school, I always fought against it. (for the most part those in favor of a union were those who couldn’t find employment outside a school, those who taught occupational skills were opposed)…that might give a clue as who supports unions in education.

I started this debate by asking that we give teachers some respect. We have serious problems in the educational system and nothing good will be achieved with each side trying to outshout the other. It seems Jerry summed up the debate with #4—if nothing else perhaps the new Gov. will help us focus on the “real” problem (whatever it is.) Let us hope something good will come from all this chaos and vindictiveness.

This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

